Skip to menu


Plenary Speakers

Prof. Moo Hwan Kim

President of Pohang Univ. (POSTECH)

Professor Moo Hwan Kim was appointed as the eighth president of Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH) on September 1, 2019.

He received both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in nuclear engineering from Seoul National University and his Ph.D. from University of Wisconsin-Madison. Professor Kim’s ties with POSTECH began over 30 years ago when he joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering faculty. He continued to teach at the Division of Advanced Nuclear Engineering and within the last ten years, has been appointed to leadership roles, including vice president of planning and vice president of student affairs and admissions at POSTECH.


Over the years, his expertise in nuclear safety has led him to serve in various capacities at national and international levels. A specialist in the field of nuclear safety technology, Professor Kim served as the president of Korea Institute of Nuclear Safety. He was selected as a commissioner for Nuclear Safety and Security Commission and as a member of the Presidential Advisory Council on Science and Technology. He also served as a member of the International Nuclear Safety Group at the International Atomic Energy Agency. In 2013, Professor Kim chaired the organizing committee of the 8th International Conference on Multiphase Flow (ICMF 2013). A recipient of the Namheon Research Excellence Award by the Korean Society of Mechanical Engineers, Professor Kim’s work has appeared in over 200 international and 60 Korean journals. For his service and contribution, he was awarded the Order of Service Merit from the Korean government and Medal of Honor from the Minister of Education Science and Technology.  


In 2020, Professor Kim was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering of Korea, the nation’s premier academic institute in engineering.


He is currently serving as an advisory member of the Presidential Advisory Council on Science and Technology (PACST) and chairperson of the Special Committee for Regional University Development of the National Education Commission.